» Home
» Rules & Qualifying
» Events
» Entry Forms/Registration
» All-Time Results
» Records
» Our History
» Be a Volunteer!
» Donations & Sponsorships
» National Senior Games
» Commissioners
» Contact Us!

» Montgomery County Recreation Dept.
» Montgomery County Parks
» Conference and Visitors Bureau of Montgomery County
» Maryland Recreation
and Parks Association

Men's and Women's Softball Results, 2008
The MSO softball tournament that has traditionally been such a spirited and well-attended event had a disappointing year as only 12 teams—including just two for the women—registered this year. Then, severe weather conditions rained out the scheduled weekend and forced some scrambling to complete medal-round play.

When all was completed Oct. 11 at Olney Manor Regional Park in Olney, the Spicers of Montgomery County, one of the nation's best senior teams, once again earned a berth to the National Senior Games. There were also some spirited games and lots of fun as two teams from St. Mary's County trekked to the tournament and Nutters Ice Cream of Washington County showed some spunk despite the poor manners of not bringing everyone some of that great ice cream served in downtown Sharpsburg.

The medal winners and national qualifiers of this year's tournament:

Gold—Nutters Ice Cream
Captain—Robert Stotelmyer (Hagerstown); Robert Bennett (Ziellinger), Michael College (Woodbine), Richard Hendershott (Woodbine), Robert Heuisler (Hanover), Timothy Hoover (Hagerstown), Thomas Johnson (Woodbine), Ronald Knable (Clear Spring), Howard Metger (Williamsport), Richard Moyer (Hagerstown), Jeffrey White (Clear Spring), Ronald Miller (Sharpsburg), Raymond Wojcik (Woodbine), Randy Wilkinson (Boonsboro).

Captain—Charles Yinger (Frederick); Phil Biedronski (Baltimore), James Collins (Olney), Dale Collis (Thurmont), Richard Grimm (Severn), Keith Hudson Sr. (Ft. Washington), Steven Pope (Frederick), Michael Seraphin (Monrovia), Keith Shaw Sr. (Frederick), John Spicer (Bethesda), Andrew Zitnay III (Columbia), Michael Winafard (New Market), Thomas Dommel (Damascus).

Silver—St. Mary's 55
Captain—Thomas Howe (Leonardtown); Lawrence Alvey (California), Roy Alvey (Valley Lee), William Bailey (Compton), Halvor Cantor (California), Gregory Dalke (Hollywood), Joseph Fuller (Leonardtown), Joseph Guy (Leonardtown), Bernard Kneeland (Leonardtown), Richard Labare (Hollywood), Thomas Lockman (Mechanicsville), James Mattingly (Leonardtown), John Odea (Chaptico), Gary Senese (Leonardtown), Richley Taylor (Leonardtown), Franklin Wood (Lusby), Thomas Young (California), Stephen Boggs (Tall Timbers).

Captain—David Chapman (Bowie); John Beane (Silver Spring), James Booth (Bethesda), Gary Brooks (Rockville), Douglas Dutterer (Mt. Airy), Joe Fry (Silver Spring), Dominic Giglio (Odenton), Al Jackson (Marriottsville), Robert Kelly (Monrovia), Norman Lynch (LaPlata), Bud Marshall (Bethesda), Jack Meisinger (Columbia), Richie Myers (Mt. Airy), Clark Richey (Columbia), Bill Rope (Washington, D.C.), Richard Shepherd (Columbia), Chuck Spalding (Laurel), John Wilmeth (Washington, D.C.), Stan Wilson (Riverdale), David Belkin (Bethesda), Jim Colen (Mt. Airy).

Gold—Tri-County Office Equipment (Gold Division)
Captain—James Sczepanski (Fayetteville, Pa.); Gary Delaney (Arbutes), Bernie Allowatt (Baltimore), Lee Coldren (Rockville), John Cullen (Edgewater), Dominick Giglio (Odenton), George Johnson (Leonardtown), Walter King (Silver Spring), John Medford (Gambrills), Charles Murkey (Rockville), William Nalley (Mitchellville), John Powell (Pasadena), Dave Shenk (Silver Spring), Richard Sherman (Silver Spring), James Stallings (Hollywood), Maynard Wells (Arnold), James Williford (Baltimore).

Gold—Montgomery Seniors (Silver Division)
Captain—Marshall Kramer (Rockville); Ronald Adam (Silver Spring), David Burton (Silver Spring), Jerry Cohen (Brookeville), John Cottrell (Kensington), Cliff Crown (Columbia), John Fennell (Olney), Donald Juran (Rockville), Brad Litchfield (Adelphi), Daniel Mann (Silver Spring), Gerard McCown (Montgomery Village), Philip Morales (Brookeville), Glenn Orletsky (Olney), Ephraim Salins (Damascus), Albert Winchester (Landover).

Silver—St. Mary's (Silver Division)
Captain—Joseph Clarkson (Bushwood); Joseph Bell (Leonardtown), Fred Bohle (Mechanicsville), John Colvin (Hollywood), Frank Combs (Leonardtown), John Cowles (Valley Lee), James Lane (Broomes Island), Charles Mills (Leonardtown), Harlan Park (Hollywood), Frank Scheder (Leonardtown), Al Sparks (Tall Timbers), Wayne Thompson (Hollywood), James Tiburzi (Lexington Park), Rick Varley (Dowell).

Gold—Hamel (Gold Division)
Captain—Earle Orme (Owings Mill); David Cooper (College Park), Guy Cremen (Glen Burnie), Vinnie Del Vecchio (Montgomery Village), Carmen Giannini (Oakton), Donald Good (Baltimore), Edward Horstkamp (Annandale, Va.), William Kaetzel (Williamsport), Clarence Lewis (Cumberland), William Lovelace (Annapolis), Francis Murth (Upper Marlboro), Francis Nalley (Mitchellville), Ronald Parker (Baltimore), Rick Silas (Rockville), Larry Thompson (Silver Spring), Charles Warnick (Glen Burnie), Maynard Wells (Arnold), Francis Wiliams (Bushwood), James Young (Fork), Edward Densmore (Lanhan).

Silver—Maryland Baysox (Gold Division)
Captain—Paul McGillicuddy (Baltimore); Michael Alexander (Bel Air), James Atkinson (Bowie), Robert Baur (Kingsville), Kenneth Cline (Baltimore), Richard Costa (Clarksville), Frederick Derrick (Ellicott City), Kenneth Dollenger (Rising Sun), Robert Hruz (Joppa), Marvin Hunter (Gambrills), Charles Johann (Bel Air), Frank Kitzmiller (Dayton), Joseph Krondon (Pasadena), Melvin Zombro (Woodbridge), Frederick Derrick (Ellicott City).

Gold—Bowie (Silver Division)
Captain—Charles Renner (Bowie); Leroy Allen (Maugansville), Robert Almony (Laurel), Robert Beene (Columbia), Frank Benitez (Gambrills), Robert Boyles (Dover, Del.), Thomas Canning (Laurel), Thurlow Carey (Wheaton), Kenneth Crowell (Shelbyville, Tenn.), David Denbow (Upper Marlboro), Matthew Feldman (Silver Spring), Leo Green (Bowie), Lloyd Knowles (Coluymbia), John McNellis (Bowie), Brad Moore (Phoenix), Peter Bielski (Annapolis), George Wolfe (Reisterstown), David Wilson (Hollywood), George Wagner (Monkton), Frank Pakulniewicz (Bowie).

Gold—Tremont 75ers
Captain—Ollie Peters (Silver Spring); Michael Yasher (Silver Spring), George Schlapo (Rockville), Leonard Bauroth (Rockville), William Birmingham (Rockville), Lester Bollinger (Rockville), Jorge Carmouze (Kensington), Bert Conger (Kensington), James Conner (Ashton), John Flood (Silver Spring), Albert Goulet (Damascus), Cletus Hockman (Sheperdstown, W. Va.), Albert Lavender (Potomac), Joseph Rostkowski (Silver Spring), Richard Rothenberg (Rockville), Robert Stroup (Silver Spring), John Supinski (Rockville), William Tait (Rockville), Michael Yasher (Silver Spring).

Gold—Vintage Maryland
Captain—Martine Bohn (Germantown); Mary Broch (Bowie), Georgia Burress (Rockville), Kathy Cheyne (Ellicott City), Mary Conlon (Gaithersburg), Gail DaPolito (Rockville), Laurie Dove (Boyds), Adrianne Grafman (Germantown), Theresa Graves (Silver Spring), Kathleen Herring (Silver Spring), Kristi Kahler (Ellicott City), Vicky Klopp (Gaithersburg), Patricia Lycette (Silver Spring), Helen Hayes (Beltsville), Rosanne Urick (Germantown), Mary Sloan (Silver Spring), Pam West (Annapolis), Barbara Ship (Rockville).

®2008, Maryland Senior Olympics. All content, logos and rights are reserved